Unbound Ties book 7 in the DI Gus McGuire series

DI Gus McGuire Book 7

When the past unravels, all that’s left is death. Lavender’s blue, dilly dilly,
When DI Gus McGuire is called out to the murder of a pregnant woman, the crime scene tells him
that this killer is not only taunting them … he’s also just getting started.

Lavender’s green,

With ritualistic precision, the killer has placed a series of clues beneath the victim’s feet. Gus soon realises that these clues link back to his mother’s past as a child in foster care in Scotland.

When I am king, dilly dilly,
Troubled by his mum’s secrets, Gus is in a dark place. Side-lined from the main investigation, Gus works another murder, not realising that the two are linked and that the killer is closer than he realises … Dangerously close.

You shall be queen.

Then the killer begins to target people near to Gus. Angry and determined Gus races to unravel the past and catch this sadist before the loss is too much for him to bear.

The seventh gripping thriller in the DI Gus McGuire series, for fans of Angela Marsons, Val McDermid and LJ Ross.

Purchase Link – mybook.to UnboundTies

Author Bio – Born in Scotland, Made in Bradford sums up Liz Mistry’s life. Over thirty years ago shemoved from a small village in West Lothian to Yorkshire to get her teaching degree. Once here, Liz fell in love with three things; curries the rich cultural diversity of the city … and her Indian husband (not necessarily in this order). Now thirty years, three children, two cats (Winky and Scumpy) and a huge extended family later, Liz uses her experiences of living and working in the inner city to flavour her writing. Her gritty crime fiction police procedural novels set in Bradford embrace the city she
describes as ‘Warm, Rich and Fearless’ whilst exploring the darkness that lurks beneath.
Struggling with severe clinical depression and anxiety for a large number of years, Liz often includes
mental health themes in her writing. She credits the MA in Creative Writing she took at Leeds Trinity
University with helping her find a way of using her writing to navigate her ongoing mental health
struggles. Being a debut novelist in her fifties was something Liz had only dreamed of and she counts
herself lucky, whilst pinching herself regularly to make sure it’s all real. One of the nicest things
about being a published author is chatting with and responding to readers’ feedback and Liz
regularly does events at local libraries, universities, literature festivals and open mics. She also
teaches creative writing too. Now, having nearly completed a PhD in Creative Writing focussing on
‘the absence of the teen voice in adult crime fiction’ and ‘why expansive narratives matter’, Liz is
chock full of ideas to continue writing.

In her spare time, Liz loves pub quizzes (although she admits to being rubbish at them), dancing (she
does a mean jig to Proud Mary – her opinion, not ratified by her family), visiting the varied Yorkshire
landscape, with Robin Hoods Bay being one of her favourite coastal destinations, listening to music,
reading and blogging about all things crime fiction on her blog, The Crime Warp.

Social Media Links –
FB https://www.facebook.com/LizMistrybooks/
Twitter @LizMistryAuthor
Website: https://www.lizmistry.com/

Extract

Extract from Chapter 2
This introduces us to the ritual serial killer who has just started his killings in Bradford and
who has no intention of stopping. However, whilst the murder is bad, there are much worse
things to follow and DI Gus McGuire will be forced to pull on all his strength to catch the
killer.
Bradford
Visiting a crime scene, almost always, resulted in a spurt of exhilaration, a spasm of dread,
and a healthy dose of resignation; not again, when will these evil bastards stop keeping us in
a job? DI Gus McGuire stood on the small square of lino that was placed just inside the front
door and just in front of another door leading to the staircase stretching to the upstairs rooms.
Hissing Sid, the chief CSI, had told him what to expect and now dread had been replaced by
resignation.
With both doors ajar now, the space Gus stood in was reduced to less than a metre
square. His detective sergeant, the diminutive Alice Cooper, attempting unsuccessfully to
peer over his shoulder to where the body dangled from the banister while muttering and
moaning behind him, was the ultimate distraction.
‘How am I supposed to see a bloody thing with your big head in the way? Any chance
you could hunker down a bit…’
Both wearing bunny suits, as Alice called the crime scene overalls they’d donned just
before entering the premises, Gus had already nearly succumbed to the cloying
claustrophobic sensation that often led to a panic attack and his partner’s wittering was doing
his head in big time. ‘For goodness’ sake, Al. Just shut up for a minute. We’ll swap over. Just
wait.’
And with less grace than speed, he edged to the side, narrowly balancing on the foot
plates Hissing Sid had deposited on the floor.
‘Don’t you compromise my scene, Gus. You look a bit wobbly there.’ Hissing Sid’s
words from outside the door were accompanied by the usual noxious fart that he seemed to
store up for just such occasions.
Gus could have throttled the man. It seemed that Sid’s CSI suit wasn’t up to the task
of isolating his pernicious trumps, and despite being outside, the stench still seemed to waft indoors. Cursing under his breath, Gus began to breathe in through his mouth, acknowledging
that his earlier satisfaction that they hadn’t caught a ‘ripe one’ this time, had been premature.
Ignoring the CSI, he shimmied Alice to the front using a shuffling motion that felt like a
parody of some sort of erotic dance, so they could both see the crime scene with the body still
in situ. Thank God neither Compo nor Taffy were there to witness this. Bad enough that he
could hear Sid’s chortles of amusement. A quick glance over his shoulder told him that Sid
had recorded the entire thing on his phone. ‘Don’t you dare upload…’
‘Oops, too late.’ Sid, mask pulled down below his neck revealing his most definitely
not contrite face, grinned. ‘Only sent it to Compo and Taffy…’
No time for dwelling on what the rest of the team would make of his and Alice’s
shimmy, Gus darted a dark frown at the man and then turned to view the scene. The CSIs,
having forensically secured the stairs and the equally miniscule area around the body, had
retreated into the bedrooms to allow Gus and Alice to view the scene as it had been
discovered.
It only took a single glance for Gus to realise that their decision was one which he
appreciated, for this crime scene was like no other Gus had ever witnessed.
‘Is that…?’
Exhaling long and slow, Gus nodded, then realising Alice couldn’t see him said,
‘Yep. We’ve got some sort of ritual here. No wonder Sid wanted us to view it before they
removed the body.’
He turned to the uniformed officer who had signed them into the inner cordon of the
alley leading to the garden of the back terrace and who now stood by the door. ‘Get on the
phone to DCI Chalmers and tell her that we need Professor Sebastian Carlton down here
asap. Tell her, I don’t care what he’s doing, this is an emergency – get a car to collect him –
whatever, but I want him here pronto.’
He turned to Sid. ‘I don’t know which pathologist is on duty, but I want McGuire
senior here – again, I don’t care what he’s doing – probably golfing if I know him, but he’s to
get here. No one else is to go anywhere near that scene till first Professor Carlton has viewed
it and second, Dr McGuire. Understood?’

One thought on “Unbound Ties by Liz Mistry”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.