Title:                  The Forgotten Girls  

Author:     Lizzie Page   

Publication Day:  13/02/2020

BUY LINKS:

AMZ: https://geni.us/B081JTJ8SPSocial

Apple Books: https://buff.ly/35hyBPZ

Kobo: https://buff.ly/2KyLhKt

Google Play: https://buff.ly/35bO0kR

Description:    

Elaine was typing out letters from POWs and reminding herself that she would not cry. Poor Sam in Burma doubted whether he would ever see his children again. ‘Tell them they mean the world to me.’ Come on, Sam. Elaine wanted to reach out into the letter, hold his hand. Hang in thereIf only he knew that she was half a world away, reading, listening…

London, 1943. German bombs rain down on London, but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from far-away prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. As she pores over each tearful letter from a soldier to his family far away, she’s not only making sure the notes reach their destinations, but also looking for secret messages hidden between the lines to help the allies win the war.

At home, Elaine’s life isn’t so simple. What the other clerical girls don’t know is that Elaine’s family isn’t respectable, and with her parents long dead, it’s up to Elaine to make ends meet. But with one brother increasingly in trouble with the law, and the other suffering a violent breakdown, it doesn’t leave Elaine much time to consider her own future hopes and dreams.

And then Elaine meets dark-haired and passionate Bobby – a wartime photographer on the dangerous front line – and her world shifts. The uncertainties of war feel more personal than ever. Will Elaine be forced to choose between her difficult family and her growing passion for Bobby? And how do you let yourself love someone with your whole heart when each moment could be their last?

A heartbreaking World War Two novel – emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Orphan TrainSold on a Monday and Before We Were Yours.

Author Bio:

Lizzie loves reading ALL the books and has always loved reading the adventures of women in the past so it seemed natural to her to write historical fiction.

She lives with her family by the sea in South East England. And with her dog. She enjoys traveling and lived in Japan for several years. Lizzie has had lots of different jobs from waitressing and teaching to admin and bingo-calling – but being a writer is her absolute favourite.

She’d love to hear what you think of her books – feel free to send her a message on twitter @LizziePagewrite or on FB or leave a review on amazon.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LizziePagewrite

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lizzie.page.75

My Thoughts

A story of love and life after love. It was a heartbreaking tale of life in 1943 living through the war.

It does go in clumps where you jump from 1940s then to 2016. It also jumps to other interesting times in history but it is more just an after thought to really bring life to Elaine.

I thought this was spectacularly written and shows what those who were left behind went through instead of focusing on the war in the eyes of those who fought it.

One of the best historical fiction I have read in a long while and has so much depth. It shows Elaine through her life and then her family as well.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.