Book Description:

‘She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.’

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.
But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand…
As the days pass, the two women learn each other’s hopes and dreams – Eva’s is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie’s is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy…

But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other’s children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitzwill fall in love with this beautiful novel.

Author Bio:

Lily Graham grew up in South Africa, and is a former journalist. She lives now in the Suffolk coast with her husband and English bulldog, Fudge.
She is the author of six novels, published by Bookouture, including the bestselling, The Paris Secret and The Island Villa.
Her latest novel The Child of Auschwitz will be out in 2019.
@lilygrahambooks

My Thoughts

Holocaust Fiction in the last few years has really come out of the woodworks. Almost every historical fiction book is based around one of the internment camps. This is bad for the genre as the market is flooded with them most being below par.

This book was not one of those books and was great to read. It made the camps looks like what they were Hell. It didn’t sugarcoat items and it made you realize how bad it really was.

Often these books romanticize the period and it frustrates me. I found this book I just couldn’t get enough of. It had action but the main focus was on survival.

The character of Eva was amazing as even though she was living a nightmare she still kept her hope of being free and of reuniting with her husband whom shebloged dearly.

Sophie seemed to be the irritant to the Nazi regime but she had such presence that you were drawn into her plight.

It was a story that sticks with you. It shows the driving desire to survive under any circumstances but to maintain your humanity.

This is a meeting author to me and now will have to read more of her historical works.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.