Title: The Couple on Cedar Close

Author: ANNA LOU WEATHERLEY

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://geni.us/B07L4NTTQRCover

Apple Books: https://tinyurl.com/ycj3ldgd

Kobo: https://tinyurl.com/yafxggr7

Googleplay: https://tinyurl.com/y96n6zmd

Description:

One sunny August afternoon, the residents of Cedar Close throw their annual summer barbecue. Children play in the cherry-tree lined street, tables are laden with food, and the wine is flowing. For Laurie Mills, it’s her first time meeting the neighbours. And it’s the first time she discovers her husband Robert is having an affair.

Cedar Close has always been a nice place to live – a quiet suburban street where everyone looks out for one another and bad things don’t happen
Until late one evening, when Robert Mills is found dead in his bedroom.
Downstairs, in their beautiful kitchen, his wife Laurie sits alone in the dark with her head in her hands.
She can’t remember the last few hours, but she knows she didn’t kill Robert.
The trouble is, no-one believes her…
An utterly gripping page-turner about the dark secrets that lie behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney’s The Girl Before and Gone Girl, The Couple on Cedar Close will keep you reading late into the night.

Author Bio:

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

To find out more about Anna’s novels, go to https://www.facebook.com/annalouweatherleyauthor/ or follow https://twitter.com/annaloulondon on Twitter.

My Thoughts

Such a gripping tale of betrayal. I never saw it coming as to who would be the person masterminding the entire thing. It was a shock but at the same time made complete sense to me.

The story was unique and very gripping throughout the entire thing. I loved the little flashbacks of Bertie and Kiki. Didn’t at first pick up who they were referring to so when I first started reading I didn’t really catch that these were two of the characters in the book that would be starring in it.

Lets start with the pace of the story. This was an extremely fast paced novel that I didn’t want to put down. I love that as it shows such a variety of ways to keep someone interested in the books.

The characters were how should I say this not ones that anyone could really like.

Robert is a player of epic proportion and really doesn’t have a lot of redeeming qualities. I mean he married Laurie but still kept on being the way he was and didn’t think of what he did to his family.

Monica is just plain cruel and while she shows sparks of humanity it is all fake and fleeting very quickly. When you first see her you think she is the sweet widow who wants to help her friend who has been through a terrible ordeal in her life.

Claire is the other woman and was one that I found not as objectionable though I do find her choices questionable and that she really wasn’t thinking of anything other than herself. She basically ruined a marriage and kept seeing a person she knew was married. It is harsh but she didn’t really come across in a good light either but she wasn’t as bad as some.

Laurie who is probably my favourite character in this book is a deluded and very naive woman. She was easily manipulated for years and she still seems to think good about people despite what her experience shows her. Her story is heartbreaking and all you can think about is that she is never going to be mentally strong enough to be with another person or have a normal relationship.

Agnes the mother of Robert is objectionable even though I know that she is sick from alcoholism the fact that she didn’t act as many mothers would and treated her kids like nothing. No wonder the kids didn’t really have a lot to do with her or her husband Stan. It seemed like they used religion as a way to mistreat people instead of taking what the true messages are supposed to be.

This book really was wonderful and I am sure will get people to have very strong opinions about it. It was hard as some of the story of what happened just trigger very unpleasant thoughts and images in my head. It is such a strong book and I am really looking forward to more from this author as well since she has such a great talent of getting into the minds of those people.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.