How far would you go to protect your darkest secrets?

When teenager Sadie Winter jumps from the roof of her school, her death is ruled as suicide – a final devastating act from a troubled girl. But then the broken body of a young boy is discovered at the same school and it’s clear to Detective Kim Stone that these deaths are not tragic accidents.

As Kim and her team begin to unravel a dark web of secrets, one of the teachers could hold the key to the truth. Yet just as she is about to break her silence, she is found dead.

With more children’s lives at risk, Kim has to consider the unthinkable – whether a fellow pupil could be responsible for the murders. Investigating the psychology of children that kill brings the detective into contact with her former adversary, Dr Alex Thorne – the sociopath who has made it her life’s work to destroy Kim.

Desperate to catch the killer, Kim finds a link between the recent murders and an initiation prank that happened at the school decades earlier. But saving these innocent lives comes at a cost – and one of Kim’s own might pay the ultimate price.

Angela Marsons is from Brierley Hill in the West Midlands and is a former security guardat the Merry Hill Shopping Centre. Having been rejected by numerous publishers over 25 years, she released three books in her crime series in 2015 under digital publisher Bookouture. Her books all have a Black Country setting, but the author says “I never write about a set group of people or anyone particular I know, all my characters are make believe.” The principal character in the crime series is Detective Kim Stone. The success of the digitally-published Kim Stone books resulted in a print deal with publisher Bonnier Publishing Fiction. Marsons is signed to Bookouture for a total of 16 books in the Kim Stone series.

Kim Stone books


Kim Stone novels

  • Silent Scream (2015)
  • Evil Games (2015)
  • Lost Girls (2015)
  • Play Dead (2016)
  • Blood Lines (2016)
  • Dead Souls (2017)

My review

With Dying Truth comes the 8th installment in the Kim Stone series. I have been privaledged to be on tbis journey since book 2 came out Evil Games which happened to have one of the best villains ever.

Book 8 was a surprise as I got to see a very different Kim. One that shows her compassion but also at the same time shows her failures as well which is in following orders at times.

The story was very difficult to read but also a very good one. It deals with a tough subject of children being hurt and dying. The book was tactful with how it handled this which is all anyone can ask for.

I am loving where this series is going and just see so much potential for growth in the series. We even got to see some of the most horrid events but at the same time the most selfless acts as well.

Bring on book 9

2 thoughts on “Dying Truth by Angela Marsons”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.