There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry.

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more?

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds.

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late?

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter.

Previously published as Last Cry.

Author bio

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

 

My review

This had the best opening chapter I have read in a very long time. It really got me straight away into the story which I hadn’t expected.

Over the last couple of years I have seen a trend where most people are writing the lead as a female in books so it is nice to see that this is not a trend that continued here. Riley is a strong type of character who also shows that he is fragile in one way. This is one of the better characters that has been developed for book 1 of a new series.

Throughout this book I thought more about him and what he had went through then the actual crimes that had been committed. The emotional journey is what I wanted and needed and definitely what I got.

I am very pleased to have been able to read this book as it made you think a lot about what we do and how we are affected by everyday items especially at work. It also really shows how short our life really can be and that we should live a well balanced life and not just to really focus on one bad experience.

I didn’t expect this from the book and it was a pleasant surprise as instead of really focusing on the crimes that this book was about I was thinking of the main character Riley and seeing his plight and what he was going through as he tried to solve them. This is the sign of a very good storyteller when you get lost in the books pages.

Leave a Reply